RSS

My Blogging Trials and Tribulations

02 Aug

In April, I decided that I wanted to start keeping an electronic record of what the boys were doing and how they were growing.  I’d gotten the Zapd iPhone app earlier that month and really liked how it allowed me to create micro blogs really quickly from my phone.  The only thing that it ‘lacked’ was that there was no way to keep all of the Zaps in one place – they each had their own individual URL.

So I decided to build a website.  Did a little research and narrowed my choices down to GoDaddy and Weebly.  Ended up picking Weebly.  Turns out – I really should have done a bit more research.  There’s nothing at all wrong with Weebly, except that about a month into it, I found out that the free version didn’t meet my needs – I couldn’t embed videos or screenshots.  I found this out on the day I really wanted to embed a video, so I went ahead and signed up for the Pro version.  That worked well for a few weeks, then I ran into the issue of them having a limit on the size of files you could upload.  I had a Screencast.com account and so decided I would store my videos there.  That worked well for a while, except that once people started looking at the videos (which is exactly what we wanted them to do), I realized that Screencast had a bandwidth limit (for the non-techies:  a limit to the amount of videos/files a person could play from my account) and I was quickly approaching it.  So, I signed up for their Pro account.  This website business was quickly becoming quite expensive!!!

After all of this, as I was working with Joel Sam on redesigning our church’s website, I realized that I could have spent a lot less money – basically just register my domain (Weebly has a horribly expensive cost for registering a domain), and then store all my video content on Vimeo and put all of my pictures in Flickr, and create a ‘real’ blog on WordPress.  (In case you’re wondering why no YouTube – I do use YouTube for some videos, but when you try to upload a video where you’ve attached a purchased song, it removes it from the video when you upload.  I knew there would be times when I’d want to add my own songs – that I paid for, thank you very much Maxwell – to my videos, so I needed another video storage site).

Finally – I think I’m where I want to be.  Adobe (owners of Screencast) was very kind to me and fully refunded the amount I’d paid for my Pro account with them when I went to cancel.  I won’t be able to get my Weebly Pro account refunded as I’ve had it past the 30-day money back guarantee.  I will however, move our domain (the-andrews-family.com) to WordPress very soon.So for a little bit, you’ll have to visit this vaughnandmelissa.wordpress.com site – but eventually, we’ll go back to our family name.

It’s been a fun learning experience tho!  🙂  I’m off to create a post about Joshua’s first birthday

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 2, 2011 in technology

 

One response to “My Blogging Trials and Tribulations

  1. Mac Coale

    November 6, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    I always use microblogs nowadays because it is so cool. :

    Kindly visit our very own blog as well
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
